Good teacher vs mental attitude

Certain individuals believe that pupil's attitude, rather than educator's skills, play a bigger role in achieving academic success. In my opinion, both are equally important and good teaching results can not be achieved with either one missing.

On the one side, students approach plays a fundamental role in their determination, ambition and motivation, which all hugely contribute to achieving high marks in school subjects. If the pupil lacks those qualities, they will not be willing to put in enough effort into studying and as a result, they will not become successful in their educational journey.

In contrary, some people believe that it is the teacher's skills that are the most important factor, deciding on student's learning achievements. Those sharing this view say that pupil's attitude is a secondary and a good educator can help anyone reach educational success. It is well known fact that inspiring teachers can inject the love of learning in the most disinterested students, living in destitution, with no positive role models.

In my opinion, the only combination of two elements: personal attitude and teacher's qualities, can create a truly successful learning outcome and therefore provide an educational success. It seems to be confirmed by a recent poll organised by the Department of Education in the UK amongst the middle school teachers, who in 78% agreed that their own skills can not be efficient if pupils do not portray the right mental attitude.

In conclusion, I am convinced that only a marriage of both: having a good teacher and being positively motivated to achieve educational success, can guarantee achieving academical heights. Therefore neither can be omitted.