A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety Therefore some people think that government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits To what extent you agree

In contemporary times in many countries, people have concerned about increase the crime rate, therefore the authorities are raising the cost for the protection of the people. Some believe that to keep them safe and for their security, the government should give more funds to the defense sector without being given to the social section. I partly agree with this statement. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss my partial agreement.

On the one hand, national security is the topmost priority in the case of every nation because depending on it, the country's economy also relies on it. For this reason, the investment of money in this department should be increased by the government, as for security purposes CCTV cameras should be placed on the road which will help to downgrade the crime rate. For example, after setting up the cameras on the road the crime incident in Mumbai has decreased a lot. Now it is easier to find out the criminals by using these cameras. Moreover, more people should be employed in the police or in the security task force, and the patrolling should be increased. Therefore, the governing bodies should have utilized more money in this division to ensure the safety of people.

On the other hand, the defense system can not cure criminal activities, hence we have to find out the root of the crime. According to the crime analyst, most of the crime happens due to the lack of employment, so the government should increase job opportunities which have already been proved very useful in many countries. For instance, in 2019, the Bangladesh government made almost 2 million vacancies for unemployed people. As a result, in the next two years crime activities decreased significantly.

In conclusion, without having a strong defense system safety can not be ensured. To sum up all the points above, I can say that the government should spend money equally in these two sectors.