government investment in the arts such as music and theatre is a waste of money. government must invest this money in public services instead. to what extend do you agree with this statement?

It is stated that, it would be better if government spend money on public services rather than on art forms such as music and theatres as it is waste of budget. However I tend to believe that, it is the responsibility of the government to aid these art sectors as it is non profitable in market but provide valuable recreational facilities.

On the one hand, the argument put forward in favor of investing money in public services is based on the fact that public services such as health care system and educational facilities are indispensable part of today' social life. More over it has to be admitted that an under funded health care system can do nothing for proper health maintenance of increasing population. Similarly, educational facilities for example, need a much more concentrated investment as it is the root cause of each and every country's development.

On the other hand, art sectors such as music and theatres are non profitable almost always, hence it would not be possible for them withstand unless through proper and constant government support. In addition, recreational facilities such as music and theatres play a major role in developing positive attitude among people and reducing stress and tension.

Further more, art sector can be an economic asset to a nation by providing more employment facilities to artists. Also it cannot be denied that a country's culture and arts bound together.

To sum up, even though it is important to budget more money on public services, it cannot be forgotten that different art forms play vital role in formation of society, hence it is essential to provide adequate support from government.