Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The transport system is the heart of any developed or developing country, on which the country’s budget should be strongly focused. In my opinion, railways and road transport are two indispensable entities on their own. They function in different ways and benefit us in their own terms, so to negate the importance of any one, would not be correct.

When we talk about railways, trains are very useful when carrying a large number of passengers as well as heavy loads from one point to the other, which may be thousands of miles away. Secondly, they are generally the cheaper and faster alternative over a long journey. Thirdly, the traffic control of railways is very excellent, which prevents any sort of jams. Lastly, they emit less amount of pollution for the number of travelers they carry. The city metro train in my country, which is electric-powered, is a major choice of commuting of the residents. It is due to the fact that it is comfortable, fast, and convenient.

Talking about road transport, it can be the best way to move around a city. Primarily, roads do not need a mammoth budget to build and so can be readily made. Secondly, a person can board a public bus at almost any time with ever decreasing waiting times due to the increase in fleet of buses. Thirdly, an individual can go for any urgent meetings at their convenience. The concept of carpooling has significantly decreased the traffic on the roads of several cities, despite the number of ever-increasing cars.

After seeing the advantages, I believe that it is equally important to spend money on both railway and road transport. So, the government should spend proportionately on both modes of transport from the country budget.