Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent year, more and more government in different countries try to invest more money for rail infrastructure. However, I complete disagree with this idea, and therefore I believe the government should spend our taxes in other transportation infrastructure, such as roads.

Some people would argue that it is a good decision since they believe that every citizen in the country should be encouraged to take more public transportation, especially trains, for preventing environment deteriorating by reducing production of greenhouse gas and air pollution particles. Nonetheless, this is not always correct. It is true that we can try to reduce air pollution by taking more public transportation. Some other pollution, however, would be produced while the railways are built. Furthermore, constructing more building of train stations is needed with the increasing number of railways. Therefore, some natural land would be destroyed in the process of building these stations and the environment would be irreversible for a long time.

In addition to the environmental factor, taking trains is not always convenient for every resident. For example, people who live in high mountains, where railways are not easy to build, have to rely on road to go out. If our government spend money only on construction of railways but not roads, it is not fair for these people who also pay for taxes.

In conclusion, I totally agree with government should encourage people to use public transportation frequently and they should take responsibilities to establish safe and convenient transportations. However, I don’t think invests more money only on rail infrastructure is right, while which type of transportation could be invested should be assessed accurately.