Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

No doubt, alterations are indispensable in the field of transportation. However, it has become an issue of debate that the disbursement of money should rather be on railways than the road system. I fully agree with the given statement and further, the divergent viewpoints are yet to be supported in the subsequent paragraphs.

Spending money on railways seems to be effective in certain ways, but the first and foremost benefit is the deterioration of accidents as the number of people dies while driving private vehicles on the roads. For instance, annual global road crash statistics clearly illustrate that around 1.25 million folks die in road crashes each year, an average of 3,287 deaths in a day. Besides this, a large number of vehicles tend to create pollution, which leads to noxious diseases such as asthma, skin and lung cancer and many more; therefore, the train system is one of the prominent ways that need to be promoted to solve this matter.

To commence with, trains tend to have high speed as comparing to vehicles, since there is no traffic congestion on the railway tracks that is usually on the roads; thus, this speed helps to solve the precious time of humans and they do not have to wait for a long time to commute from one place to another. Moreover, trains are the cheapest mode of transportation as compared to other vehicles; meanwhile, people do not have to spend much money on traveling their destinations.

In conclusion, given the significance of trains, the government should allocate more funds to the railway system rather than the road system for the welfare of people in the fast-moving world.