The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly supposed by some that investing more budget in researching medical remedies is more necessary than tackling environment-related issues. While I think that new treatment methods are important to our lives to some extent, I disagree that environmental protection is a minor element.

To begin with, the limitation in curing fatal diseases such as cancer or stroke causes severe consequences in many nations, especially developing countries. As a result, many residents could not overcome and have to face death sentences. Secondly, the advancement in the medical field plays an integral part in not only human beings’ survival but also a certain nation’s civilization, economy, and wealth. Take the COVID-19 pandemic as an example, every business-related activity has been forced to halt in order to prevent this severe virus from devastating the whole world. More importantly, the loss of both assets and humans impacts hugely the workforce and enterprises.

However, I would argue that pollutants or natural disasters also need to be taken a keen interest in. firstly, the survival of people is reliant on the cleanliness of the surrounding environment and habitat. Due to witnessing many disastrous catastrophes, nations could be able to comprehend the enormous impact of the nature and ecosystem. For example, in a small village near my area, two-third of residents have suffered from lung cancer by virtue of the contamination in their water source. Besides, the phenomenal flood in the Middle part of Vietnam is also a graphic example of when hundreds of local people passed away, which affected significantly Vietnam’s budget and economy.

In conclusion, I hold the view that either the medical system or environmental issues need to be addressed and they played the same importance these days.