Governments should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others support building more and wider roads. Discuss both of these viewpoints and give your opinion.

Some individuals are the opinion of that the government should invest money in constructing train and subway lines to mitigate the traffic density, while others think that road expansion is more effective. I believe although the latter solution can address the traffic problem in the short term, the former method is much more better.

On the one hand, when the government invests national budgets in expanding roads that could be a temporary solution and occurs some drawbacks. Most roads are overwhelmed by private cars or motorbikes, so the increase of size roads including adding extra lanes or building overpasses would immediately alleviate this traffic problem. However, the road transport system is widened it means that the commuters are encouraged to use their private vehicles more regularly. Additionally, if this method is implemented on a large scale, which will change people’s behavior about traffic problem. Particularly, drivers who had previously avoided the route due to traffic jam now consider it as an attractive option. Therefore, this road project is a stopgap measure, which cannot tackle the congestion issue.

On the other hand, spending the domestic funds on rail and subway systems properly relieves the congestion. Firstly, in comparison with the private vehicles which can contain between four and seven passengers, the public transport system can hold hundreds of people simultaneously. Coupled with their speed and frequency service, trains and subway systems can ease the traffic flow. Another benefit of using this kind of transportation is that it shortens travel time of passengers. People do not have to stuck in the traffic jams for hours because the subway is underground and this public transit does not go through traffic lights or encounter any interruption, hence, this solution is viable in the reduction of road congestion.

In conclusion, I believe improving existing road infrastructures from government budget should not be an unsustainable method to mitigate gridlock, while public railway systems would be much more feasible solution and deserve more funding from government.