Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Carrying people and goods in roads, air, rail and waterways are quite important for a country for its development. It is often debated whether governing bodies should focus on the development of railways or land transportation and I personally believe that roads should get more priority as highway transports are cheaper, more convenient, more widely used and provide the last mile connectivity.

Laying roads is a cheaper alternative than building the rail network. The trains require a large infrastructure to construct its bogies, engines, platforms and so on and require a hefty investment from the government. On the other hand, roads are the cheapest source of commuting to places as it requires few labourers and raw materials. Citing an example, to construct a kilometre road, it requires roughly $25000, whereas to construct the same length of the rail network, the government has to allocate a budget of around half a million dollar. So it is more beneficial for a government to put more emphasis on the road transportation.

Secondly, roads connect the remote villages, houses and areas to the main city. Railways have more emphasis on making profits as they connect only major commercial cites from where they can garner maximum profit. Besides, the roads can be constructed in any terrain or location and also in areas where it is not practical and feasible to lay rail tracks. For example, Siachen is the highest battleground of the world with a population of few hundreds only. The government has constructed a temporary road to supply arms, ammunition, and food for the troops fighting at such a high altitude and hostile terrain. In such cases, railways are not even an option.

In conclusion, I will support the government to spend more on road networks than railways as it is more beneficial for the government to focus on roads, which requires less investment and can be constructed anywhere.