Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Increasing number of cars in contemporary society leads to several ecological consequences, therefore, some people would rather see more new railways than roads. Even though trains might have some merits, I believe that investment in road infrastructure should be prioritised.

Trains have long history in modern living, however, since their invention a lot have changed. Many advocates of rail transportation argue that trains are way ecological than cars. However, its not always true. Many local trains are still powered by fossil fuels, emitting tons of pollutions mostly in rural areas. Moreover, it could be also argued that trains can carry more commuters at one time. I concede that cars or buses are not able to, however, trains and its network would not be able to connect every city or the smallest town. Furthermore, building rail track is not only exorbitantly expensive, but also require advanced construction techniques and equipment.

Hence, I believe that building new roads against extending rail network should be done for these two reasons. Firstly, construction or development of new roads will reduce everywhere presented gongestions. As a result, vast of pollutions as a product of burning fossil fuels will be reduced. However, my strongest argument is probably positive effect to our society. People not only live in big cities, but they also live in small and isolated part of country. The smallest town can be have just ten or less inhabitants, but still needs to be connect with another town or urban areas. Most of logistic happen by road, moreover, people living in small cities can feel safe that in case of emergency, emergency services will be able to access them.

In short, despite its advantages, rail network will not be able to connect all towns and cities, therefore, on balance, I believe that spending money on new roads brings more benefits to modern society.