Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is suggested that instead of focusing on roads, the authorities should invest more money in developing the railway network. Personally, I strongly agree with this suggestion.

One of the main reasons why the construction of railways should be supported is that railways are safer than roads. For instance, the number of casualties caused by road accidents has been reported to be larger than that caused by trains. This is mainly due to the fact that operations of trains on railways are strictly regulated both by advanced computer systems and professional staff. In contrast, travelling on roads has a higher risk of accidents for the reason that car drivers and motorbike riders fail to abide by traffic laws and drive recklessly.

In addition, travelling by trains has been proven to be faster than by road vehicles. This could be explained by the fact that while a train is on the move, it could be given priority over other vehicles as the railway barriers can be put in place to keep other vehicles out of its track. On the other hand, drivers travelling on roads may get stuck in traffic jams and lose up to an hour waiting, which is especially true during peak hours. The result of this distinction is quite significant for workers, as illustrated in Vietnam, where commuters using trains are often on time whilst car drivers tend to arrive at work late.

To sum up, I strongly support the view that investment in developing railways should be prioritized over that in improving roads.