Some people prefer to provide help or support directly to the local community. Others prefer to give money to national or international charitable organizations.

Discuss both and give opinion

Approaches to help provision have been a tropical topic. While some contribute directly to local communities that need help, others opt to donate money to charities operating on national or global scale. Both views will be analyzed in the following essay before my personal standpoint is stated.

On one hand, direct provision of help and support to specific areas is compelling for various reasons. Forefront among these is that it is less reliant on money and suited for those financially restricted. A good example of this is that young students and socioeconomic groups in the low-paid income bracket are often seen doing the legwork, serving food to the homeless in an slum. Another justification for preference of on-site support is that it fills people with a sense of fulfillment and pride. In particular, this sensation is shared by those who travel to remote areas to help build houses after a devastating flood, as they get to see their efforts taking physical manifestations and bringing joy to the vulnerable.

On the other hand, charitable organisations are also a credible destination to give money to. To begin with, in modern times, individuals tend to be rather busy, with their work and other ventures, rendering them lack of time or knowledge needed to send help. Through donations, especially of money, they facilitate other better-trained individuals to provide timely and appropriate help to those needed. Also, the increasing number of charities also enables donators to indirectly exert their help to a wider range of people experiencing unfortunate events. For example, instead of focusing on just the poor, charitable contribution could be utilized and distributed to relocate those whose houses are destroyed by floods and tornadoes.

Taking both sets of arguments into consideration, I see that both approaches are legible, depending on individual capacities, in terms of time, money and knowledge.