Entertainers get paid more than politicians.

What are the reasons for this?

Is this a negative or positive development?

In modern societies, it is observed that entertainers are paid invariably higher wages than politicians. As will be proven in the following essay, this development is positive and largely owing to the growth of technology and marketing.

Entertainment has become a lucrative industry for various reasons. Forefront among them is the relentless of various media outlets. The initial advent of TV, followed by CDs, streaming sites and downloadable apps on smart devices in the ensuing decades, has facilitated entertainers to reach audience on a progressively larger scale, who then purchase tangible products or pay subscription fees. Another element contributing to entertainers’ wealth is their profitable endorsement deals with brands. Artists with large fan bases like Mariah Carey are paid millions of dollars for appearing in ads for Pepsi or Tmobile.

The fact that entertainers are earning more is arguably a positive development. Entertainers in the past used to be looked down on and paid little. The elevation in their remuneration shows that their dedication and hard work are gaining more recognition from the public, which can inspire those with affinities for areas like Art or music to embrace and harness their talents. Also, though politicians ought to earn a decent living wage, politics should not be a money-driven profession. Should those in office focus more on amassing a fortune, they could abuse their political power for personal financial gains, damaging the integrity of their crucial work. In 2018, a number of Vietnamese officials were convicted for accepting bribery from parents to adjust their children’s test results, which sparked social outrage.

In conclusion, the pervasive nature of technology, compounded with marketable appeal, has upped entertainers’ earnings to a higher level than incomes of politicians. This development benefits entertainers, encourages self-acceptance in ordinary people and reinforce the professional boundary for politicians, who should not be compelled by monetary gains.