Write about the following topic.

It has been noted that many people who had a big impact on the world gave themselves completely to their work and did not bother with the idea of “work-life balance”. To what extent should people try to have a good work-life balance?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is observed that those who exerted a great influence on the world dedicated themselves entirely to their professional life and ignore the concept of "work-life balance". Personally, unlike the message these people conveyed, I believe that addressing a balance between work and social life is of paramount importance.

Forefront among the reasons to support my view is the fact that working without a break often leads to long-term physical and mental health problems. For instance, office staff who regularly work unsocial hours to meet deadlines have been reported to suffer from deteriorated eyesight and alerting levels of stress. In Japan, stress from working has also been cited as the reason a considerable proportion of young people suffer from depression and in some cases, committed suicide. These problems can potentially undermine not only productivity at work, in particular but also the entire workforce, in general.

In addition, it is worth noting that there is more to life than just working. One of the fundamental reasons why people constantly push themselves to the limits at work is so that they could make a better life for themselves and their family. While having a high degree of commitment to one's career might give them more chances for accumulating wealth, it often comes at the price of quality time with friends and family. This could lead to feelings of isolation and regret later in life. An example to illustrate this point is Steve Jobs, who prior to his passing expressed his tremendous regret at having allocated his hours to only his work instead of allowing more time for his daughter.

In conclusion, I am convinced that work-life balance is an essential part of society as the lack of it could damage not only people's mental and physical health but also their social bonds.