Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that authorities should use their budget for investing railways rather than expanding and improving the road system. In my opinion, I completely agree with those whose argue that government investment in construction of rail and subway networks would be more effective in the long run.

The efforts of governments to use their money on the expansion and improvement the road system are just the provisional solutions to alleviate traffic congestion. Firstly, the existing roads are obviously inadequate to deal with the increasing of number of mean of transportation especially private cars or motorbikes the here and now, particularly in city centers. Moreover, the large of emissions from people’s private cars or motorcycles commute to work every single day result in severe air pollution, and investment in new roads just make the problems get even worse.

On the other hand, others argue that the construction of rail and subway lines would be a much more effective long-term solution to the problem of traffic congestion and our environment. One reason is that more people will be encouraged to leave their cars or motorcycles at home, in order to travel more quickly to their destination by metro or rail services. This will reduce air pollution caused by the exhaust fumes of cars and motorbikes. Another reason is that if people use metro to commute for almost their destination, it could ease traffic jams, especially in the rush hour.

In conclusion, I believe that governments should prioritize spending on rail and metro lines rather than on building and widening roads in order to reduce traffic problems.