Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Some people believe that governments should use money on railways rather than roads. I completely agree with this statement because of several reasons.

Money is often needed to improve road condition because it can reduce the amount of road accidents. There is a lot of road accidents which occur because of damaged roads. Moreover, money is also needed to construct more roads in order to the massive growing of cars and motorcycles in some area. Thus, building more roads will reduce traffic jam because it gives another alternative for drivers to choose which road they will pass. However, these advantages are less if compared to the advantages that we can get from spending money on railways.

On the other side, money which is spent for constructing more railways will provide more subway train routes for people. As a result, they will choose to travel using subway trains than their private vehicles because they are currently available in their destined routes. Moreover, the money can also be used for improving existing railways so the subway trains can pass through them safely. The safer they are, the more likely for people to choose riding subway trains than their private transportation. If a lot of people choose to travel using subway trains, the level of traffic congestion that occurs in a country will be reduced gradually.

In conclusion, I completely agree that government should spend more money on railways than on roads because although using money on roads can improve the damaged roads which can decrease the number of road accidents and can build more roads which will help reducing traffic jam problem, those benefits are less if compared to the benefits from spending money on railways. Otherwise, spending money on railways will provide more subway train routes for people and will provide safer subway train railways which will make people to choose them over their private vehicles, and will reduce traffic congestion gradually.