With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more GM foods. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

These days, overpopulation has led to various problems in our lives, especially a lack of food. Genetically modified foods seem a reasonable solution to reduce the rate of starvation in the world. Although this alternative can be harmful, I believe GM Foods can bring various benefits.

On the one hand, various reasons explained our world is not ready for GM foods. The first reason relates to the influence on human health called allergic reactions. New substances and DNA from other organisms are transplanted into foods without safety. Genes can easily be changed when being triggered new environment creating chemical reactions. As a result, it is not sure that everyone is safe and healthy after consuming GM foods. In addition, manufacturing GM foods costs an arm and a leg. The progress requires professional researchers, and modern technology to tissue transplant and deal with unpredictable situations. Therefore, we need to put huge capital into experiments and human resources.

On the other hand, many proponents of GM food contend that genetic engineering can solve food issues. Firstly, GM crops help the environment as farmers need to use less pesticide, for instance, one or two sprays per harvest instead of three or four sprays for conventional varieties. GM foods are not only cheaper but safer. Because it reduces risks to farmers by using fewer pesticides and provides the nutritional value of crops by supplying vitamins and minerals which make food more flavor and better texture. Nevertheless, the progress of GM foods is not time-consuming and produces more products at a low cost. As a result, it alleviates the problems of hunger in the world.

In conclusion, I understand that biologically engineered foods can be a solution to the food shortage. It is predicted that the staving can reduce.