With the growing population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding a large number of people. Some people think that GM food offers a viable solution for this problem.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people recommend genetically modified food (GM food) as a highly potential resource to cope with the global soaring food demand, as food security now is the most considered topic across the world. Although I believe using GM food can immediately solve the farming problem, I am more of the idea that this approach can not outweigh its drawbacks in the long-term.

Firstly, GM food might bring genetic-relating problems for the incoming generations, as thought and researched by many scientists. In order to get high productivity for crops, for example for the fruits to become bigger or vegetables to be resistible with pest, the GM food companies must apply biogenetic engineering to interfere into the order of genes. Even though there is no clear proof announced yet, many researchers have warned consumers publicly about the possibility of genetic disorder consequences in human offspring leading by consuming this type of food. In some European countries, GM foods are even prohibited by the governments as a preventing action.

Secondly, growing GM crops are accused to cause serious effects on the environment, as these plants are non-native to the cultivation area as well as they require particular fertilizers which may not be eco-friendly. When GM plants are introduced into an area, the local food web and then local biodiversity are affected. For example, the existence of local insects and birds are threatened as they are not able to eat the new plants. Additionally, the fertilizers using in GM cultivation are proven by many researchers to contain various artificial chemicals which can possibly penetrate to the underground water and damage the local residents’ health because the fertilizers only partially dissolve into the soil and use by crops.

In conclusion, GM food yields give people some hopes about facing the starving problem; however, using it actually raises far more concerns about the environment and health problems for the human being.