Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other,

while others think that people have become more independent.

Discuss both views and

give your own opinion.

Changes in a variety of aspects in modern society have affected human relationships, and whether we are living a less dependent life has become a heated topic of controversy. In this essay, I am going to analyze these opposing ideas before expressing my own.

On the one hand, some people argue that living independently on other people is the norm of modern lifestyle. Family members, for example, have lived independently on each other over time, and children tend to move out after reaching adulthood to go to college or work elsewhere. Equally, it is quite common that grandparents are now no longer stay under the same roof with their children or grandchildren, and live on their pension or their own saving money. At the same time, families also have become dispersed than ever, and people could not rely on their relatives as in the past when extended families were predominant in society.

On the other hand, there are two major clues on why people believe that humans are more dependent on each other. In the family scale, although living away from home, economic pressure makes young adults often have to rely on their parents financially. That is usually true to most of the students who have not started a professional career yet, and it is also the case of many young people who only just begin working and need money for living expenses or housing fee. In the entire society scale, labor distribution has caused a high dependence among every sector of the community as each sector today is only specialized in one area, meaning that it has indirectly connected people in all sectors together. For instance, people working in the dairy industry need products made by workers from cattle feeding companies and also need to sell their dairy products to customers.

In conclusion, although it is true that modern society makes people independent to some extent, I would argue that we are now living a dependent life more than ever.