Health: In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Over the past decade, highly life expectancy has become a prevalent and publicly recognized phenomenon in developed countries. Although it may undoubtedly bad effect to individuals and society, there are some methods to solve this problem by directly strike to the impact of ageing populations.

On the one hand, having a longer longevity is an obviously natural desiring of people but it appears to have some problems affect not only mentally but also physically for both individuals and society. In fact, in order to having a longer lifespan people would have to choose working harder as well as spending more for taxes. Such obviously huge burden certainly make them not only feel tired, but also do not have enough money to spend for their basic life. As a result it maybe become a counterproductive impact to individuals. Besides, by having many elderly rate, the government is more likely to be more negatively effected by increase the retirement wage as well as need more facilities and accommodation such as libraries, nursing home, entertainment center. Such investment will be an obviously huge burden lead to a range of negatively new policies, such as increase tax fee, tolls. Even a small rise like VAT tax fee also can be a dangerous source of developing some problems for citizens.

On the other hand, there are certain methods could be considered to decline those problems via limit the disadvantages of elderly in the nation. Firstly, apparently having higher longevity means there are many more workable and energetic elder people. This would inevitable a source of worker for the country by increasing the retirement ages or invite those desirable elderly want to dedicate for community. Also, developing the workable resource seems to be a plausible alternative if the government have some attractive justified policies by introduce effective laws to attract talented and young people to their countries, such as the way that the US and Canada are working at the moment. In addition, the government also should introduce some positive regulations that support pregnant women and youngsters in order to having population rejuvenation in a long-term.

In conclusion, although having higher average life expectancy could come at a cost for both individuals and society, the return will be more plausible if the government can introduce some appropriate policies to repel the downsides of ageing population.