High job demands, stress and sense of commitment are among the main reasons people go to work when they are ill. This way they accomplish important tasks, but may infect others or get some serious health problems themselves.

In your opinion should people go to work if they are sick?

The problem related to the appropriate medical support of employees has been relevant since the establishment of the first companies. Some people claim that labors should attend the job even when they are diseased, while others opine that this situation may be harmful for both the humans and their colleagues. I am convinced that in case of illness employees should not work due to the reasonS marked hereinafter.

I strongly believe that for public safety reasons humans suffering from diseases should not visit their job. It cannot be denied that in case of contagious illness, individuals may be dangerous for others due to the high risk of infection. Therefore, in order to minimize the chance to spread the viruses and bacteria, self-isolation at home can be recommended for the sick. For instance, over the Covid-19 pandemic lockdown was one of the most effective ways to limit the spreading of the virus. Thus, refusing to work in case of being sick is considered to be one of the efficient methods of protecting others from infection.

However veracious it sounds, I would not agree with the opinion that diseased employees ought to continue the working process in order to resolve the job tasks. Admittedly, anxiety related to the intensive labor is harmful for people`s health status. Therefore, acute as well as chronical illnesses may intensify due to the high job demands and stressful atmosphere in the office. For example, according to the Moscow Medical University, overwhelming majority of heart attacks occur as a result of tense job. Hence, even though employees should do a lot of tasks at work, their health ought to be a priority for them.

To conclude the theses stated recently, I would like to draw the attention that attending the office should not to be obligatory for humans with medical problems. The main reasons for that are the possibility to infect their colleagues and worsen the health status.