As housing is a basic necessity for people, governments should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Living accommodation is a basic need for any resident. Due to the rising living standard, urbanization, and other related factors, the cost of housing is rising high, making it hard for many people to afford it. It is argued that the governments should be responsible for giving free housing to them. I totally disagree with this idea and in this essay, I will support my opinion with some examples.

To begin with, I agree that there are some advantages that this development could bring to people’s lives. First of all, it is clear that by giving free houses, the homeless rate would be declined. This may also affect the percentage of robbers, drug dealers, and other kinds of crime. Furthermore, it may help reduce the spreading of diseases. When people do not have a home, they start to live in the streets, slums, cars, and any other places where they could lie down and sleep. Those places often contain different types of viruses, which could cause flu and other diseases. When living there in a long term, people’s health may be adversely impacted.

On the other hand, this evolution brings various drawbacks. One of the primary disadvantages is laziness. The living accommodation is one of the reasons why citizens work hard day and night to afford it. If it is given for free, they could become dependent. Therefore, in the near future, they may ask for many other things such as free food, free vehicles, free tax, and so on. Additionally, not every nation could make that idea happen. For instance, in undeveloped and developing countries, there is a lack of money to solve a lot of national problems like natural disasters, economic issues, and so on. By giving expenditure for housing, the countries may experience financial instability.

To conclude, this development brings advantages along with disadvantages. I strongly believe that the drawbacks outweigh any benefits.