Housing shortage in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people think only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays , many people are migrating to big cities and it leads to housing shortage which has become one of the most serious issue of the society. Although some people think that this can only solved by governments, I believe companies as well as individuals could help to change this status quo.

To begin with, governments with authorities have the capacity to tackle housing crisis by taking various measures. Firstly , governments could restrict building landed houses and encourage people to live in apartments which would help big cities to deal with space shortage that are caused by increasing number of immigrants. For example, in 2010, Ha Noi has built thousands of low price high-rise apartments in order to meet the large demand of residents. In addition , governments could control the number of people immigrating into center cities by setting up the laws which is barriers to entry, therefore , decreasing the need for housing.

In contrast, despite of the limit of power, there are several things that companies and individuals themselves can do to make positive effects in solving housing shortage. Firstly, companies could invest to small towns by building factories and offices there , thereby , giving more job opportunities for local residents, so they can work at their hometown and do not have to move to big cities . Secondly,individuals could make changes by choosing to live in suburbs which are far away from the center and commuting by public transportations, thus, reducing population density in center cities and dealing with space shortage problem.

In conclusion, the last decade has witnessed a significant population growth in big cities in the world which leads to housing shortage problem , a major concern of governments and society. From the reasons given above, I strongly believe that if government and citizens as well as corporations work together , this issue would be completely solved