Human activity has had a negative effect on plants and animal all over the world. Some people think that it is too late to do something about it. Others think that there is still time to take effective action. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Whilst some people believe that the devastating effects of human behavior on the ecosystems are unchangeable, others argue that appropriate measures can be adopted to deal with this burning issue. Though I agree that the environment has been badly damaged, I also believe that immediate actions can be performed to tackle this pressing matter.

On the one hand, there are a wide range of plausible explanations as to why many people are prone to believe that it is pointless to carry out any further actions to protect our planet. First, extreme weather events resulting from human activity are occurring all over the world. For example, unprecedented droughts in South Africa gave rise to production loss and daily blackouts. The thick poisonous smog also blanketed Beijing as a result of human behavior. These phenomena have caused serious harm to not only human beings but also animals and plants. Second, urban sprawl led to clear-cutting and deforestation resulting in loss of forest and habitat fragmentation. Third, overharvesting ecosystems has given rise to the depopulation of a multitude of species, especially in the fishing industry. Consequently, the populations of these animals were dramatically decreased.

On the other hand, it can be argued that effective actions can still be taken to protect our environment and well-being. For instance, governments can set aside land for parks. Accordingly, plants and animals in parks could be protected from human activities. People are not allowed to disturb the habitats inside park lands. Similarly, other activities such as fishing, hunting, mining, and drilling for oil might also be prohibited in these park lands. In addition, the governments can also impose laws to protect the ecosystems and habitats. For example, the laws can limit the number of trees that can be cut down in forests and help to protect the air and water from contamination.

In conclusion, whilst there are some convincing explanations as to why the ecosystems have been harmed severely, I sincerely believe that decisive actions might be carried out to safeguard our species and their habitats.