If a person wants to be successful, he or she must be open minded to new ideas and willing to change his or her mind.

Success, the objective for everyone, has been valued and even triggers a heated discussion over what qualities can give rise to success. Avoiding being open-minded to new ideas and being willing to change his or her mind, in some people’s views, is preferable. Contrary to these people’s opinions is my perspective that to succeed in life, it is beneficial for people to be open-minded, due to the contribution to efficiency and relationships.

What must be prioritized is that being open-minded, rather than being stubborn, helps a person enhance efficiency because of reducing time and error. First of all, it is obvious that an open-minded person spends less time doing things than others. To be more specific, when people have to learn subjects in the school, including mathematics, physics, and chemistry, an open-minded person can learn fast and outperform in the school because he or she is willing to learn any concepts derived from teachers; however, teachers may find it hard to impart knowledge to the students who insist in their own opinion and refuse to accept new knowledge. Furthermore, it is being open-minded that helps a person reduce error. In detail, an open-minded person is willing to follow others’ advice after knowing he or she makes mistakes, so he or she has more opportunities to be successful in the academic environment or in the workplace; by contrast, it is difficult to get such achievement for those who avoid accepting advice since they will commit mistakes over and over again.

What is equally worth discussing is that being willing to accept new ideas helps a person form intimate relationships with old friends and new friends. To begin with, relationships with old friends can be maintained when a person is willing to accept new ideas. To be more concise, when a person receives advice from old friends, he or she is willing to accept advice and change his or her mind, thus becoming a well-rounded person and succeeding in professional life; in contrast, stubborn people may find it difficult to change their minds and even anger their friends when they obtain advice from their old buddies, so they cannot receive advice from old friends and will thus have fewer chances to outperform in professional life. Moreover, it is an open-minded person that can develop close relationships with new friends. To explain it deeper, people from all works of life enjoy making friends with a person who is willing to accept new ideas, so an open-minded person can seek help from these friends in personal life; stereotyped people, nonetheless, will have hard time making friends with diverse backgrounds, so their personal life will not be improved.

Efficiency, the most important skill in life, will be boosted when a person is open-minded. Relationships, the foundation for success, will be facilitated and maintained if a person is willing to accept new ideas. To sum up, only when a person is open-minded can he or she succeed in the world.