The increase in food production owes much to fertilizers and better machinery, but some people think that it has a negative impact on human health and community. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few decades, the world has seen an upsurge in the trend of people being overdependent on fertilizers and machinery in producing various types of food. It seems to me that this growing tendency carries a certain degree of risk to the local community.

To begin with, the overuse of inorganic fertilizers may release relatively high proportion of pollutants. To hit this one the head, water ways, which are close to farms using fertilizers, are possibly polluted by a range of detrimental effects of toxic emissions. The health of local residents would be greatly aggravated since they have to utilize these sources of contaminated water on a daily basis. In addition, it is perhaps even more significant if a farmer uses synthetic fertilizers in a long period of time, which may result in soil erosion.

On top of that, excessive use of machinery emits a considerable amount of carbon dioxide. Carbon emissions play a leading role in air contamination as well as lead to multiple respiratory-relating diseases. Furthermore, as loads of companies tend to replace employees with better machinery, it would pose a threat with respect to job market, which has already been severely competitive. All in all, it can be concluded that there is a possible connection between this tendency and the potential dangers to the public.

On the whole, owing to the reasons mentioned above, it is my personal belief that the rise in using fertilizers and machines in food production has ample adverse impacts when it comes to human health as well as job opportunities.