An increasing number of people are changing their careers.

What are the reasons? Do you think this is a positive or negative development to society?"

In today’s workforce, while a majority of people struggle to seek a job there is a rising trend of others switching their careers owing to a couple of reasons. In my opinion, this kind of tendency should be looked at in a negative light as will be discussed.

There are a number of causes contributing to job-hopping. First of all, people make frequent job change in order to pursue a more rewarding employment including both external and internal factors. In terms of externality, relocation of accommodation or better working environment are among the reasons that forces people to change their jobs. Additionally, people themselves change jobs to gain experience as they can learn different skills when being retrained in a different occupation. Second, it is dissatisfaction with the leadership of senior management that makes people quit their original occupations. According to the LinkedIn’s survey on why people change job in 2015, discontent over immediate supervisors accounts for 41% of the answers.

Changing one’s career does seem to have some negative influences to the society. In the first place, if job-hopping extends, this trend will result in the lacking of experts in fields since changing jobs means that people do not have deep knowledge of a particular occupation. Furthermore, it would become an obstacle for companies to retain new-commers because they need a particular time to adapt new tasks and duties let alone fee for recruitment process and job-training. For employees, making job change in quick succession will lead to difficulty in landing a job in the future which further contributes to higher unemployment rate.

In conclusion, people’s contemplating a change of career is brought about by a lot of reasons and in the long run this development will more likely to put detrimental impacts on the employee in particular and the society in general