Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree. What are other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic congestion and pollution has become a pressing issue recently. Some people believe that this problem can be addressed by increasing the petrol’s price, whilst some others do not support this idea. I can see the issue from both perspectives, however I consider the latter to be more convincing and I think there are better solutions to this problem.

Those who argue that the best way to control traffic volume and pollution is increasing the price of fuel assert that, once higher rate is imposed, people may use the public transport instead of their own cars. This measure will limit private cars and results in reducing air pollution.

There may be some truth to the above argument; however there are facts under which this measure will not work effectively. For example, daily commuting is compulsory to most of people. Even the price of fuel is higher, people have to accept to pay for it. In addition, the transport companies will not stop running their services just because of increase in fuel price. In this case, they will apply a higher fare to passengers.

Furthermore, growing traffic and pollution come from many other factors such as growing population and no control of vehicles. Therefore, the government should consider other solutions than lifting up the price of fuel and work out a strategic plan to solve this problem. One of these measures can be developing an overall public transport network which includes different transport modes, for example, bus system, elevated railway and tram. This network targets at competitive price, convenience and safety to encourage commuter to use. Besides, it is important to launch programs to raise public awareness of protecting environment and effects caused by pollution.

To conclude, I believe these measures I just mention above will be more effective than increasing the price of gasoline in order to solve the traffic and pollution problem.