Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems To what extent do you agree or disagree What other measures do you think might be effective

Currently, the level of traffic and pollution problems are growing. Some people believe that the best solution to overcome these problems is by increasing the petrol fare. I completely disagree with this view and opine that there are more effective measures to tackle this issue.

The reason why I disagree is because increasing petrol fare will not stop people from using their private vehicles. This is because people do not have another comfortable and safe option to travel to their destined places. Hence, the best option for them is by using their own transportation. Instead, the price of commodities will also increase because of the increase in petrol fare, and will cause country's economy to suffer.

Meanwhile, other option that can be done and will tackle the problem more effectively is improving existing public transportation and provide them with affordable fares. If public transportation such as rapid train and buses are in a good and safe condition, people will more likely to be willing to ride them. Moreover, providing them with affordable fares will also encourage people to ride them instead of using their money to pay for petrol. For example, public transportation in Singapore is great and has affordable fares which cause a lot of people to ride them. As a result, the level of traffic congestion and pollution in Singapore is low.

In conclusion, I completely disagree that the best solution to overcome pollution and traffic problems is by increasing petrol fare because it will not stop people from using their private vehicles and will cause other commodities price to rise which will lead to the suffer of economy. However, there is another more effective solution which involve improving existing public transportation and provide them with affordable fares.