Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems To what extent do you agree or disagree What other measures do you think might be effective

In modern times, living in a city is associated with congestion and air pollution. To tackle these problems, many feel that governments should take measures related to the rise of petrol prices. In this essay I will explain the reasons why I disagree with such a policy, and I will present alternative ways to deal with traffic jams and environmental issues.

Increasing the price of petrol is not an appropriate way to mitigate the traffic and pollution, especially in city centres. One main reason is that similar measures have been introduced in the past but interestingly failed. In Sweden, for instance, the implementation of such a policy ended up with higher income for the petrol companies. Historically, it was not a deterrent for people in order not to use their own cars and commute by public transportation instead. Individuals, however, long preferred pay more in petrol but enjoy the convenience of travelling by car or airplane, which both operate with fuel. Clearly, a significant rise in petrol prices in the past has shown that it did not encourage people to eliminate the use of means of transportation that are linked to pollution and traffic.

By contrast, there are more effective ways to cope with these problems, including the implementation of green taxes and limits to the use of cars in the city centres. Indeed, introducing environmental taxes would be a key tool for moving towards a decarbonized economy. Australia, for example, has implemented these taxes in the emissions of nitrogen dioxide which are produced, above all, by combustion vehicles. In addition to the green taxes, another efficient measure should be the allowance in the use of cars in the city centres during specific hours each day, aiming to decongest the cities from vehicles and air pollution. A good example is the law of the Athens Ring, in Greece; this is an area in the central Athens controlled by an odd/even system, originally designed to control traffic congestion in the capital of Greece.

In conclusion, while there are some who feel that the more expensive the price of petrol, the less traffic and pollution, I am of the view that such measures have already failed in the past. Governments though should implement more appropriate ways to mitigate traffic congestion and pollution, like the green taxes and elimination in the use of cars in the city centres.