Prevention is better than cure Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures To what extent do you agree

It is true that people trait differently before an illness. Many feel that curing a disease is the most beneficial option, while others believe that a disease can only be treated by prevention. I totally agree with this statement, because I am of the view that investing in preventive ways has positive outcomes for both individuals and communities.

With regards to individuals, taking preventive measures has clear advantages in their own health. Indeed, people get used to healthier lifestyles in order to prevent a disease, including the most fatal ones, like diabetes, cardiovascular diseases or chronic kidney disease. In Australia, for instance, there was a famous campaign called “Prevention is better than cure” urging people to change their dietary habits aiming to prevent these diseases, focusing on keeping people active, getting healthy checks on a regular basis and eating a balanced diet. By reducing or eliminating the risk factors, which are highly responsible for the aforementioned illnesses, the quality of people’s lives could be improved. Clearly, if people focus on preventing diseases rather than curing them, they will maintain their health wellbeing.

On the other hand, the effect of investing in prevention rather than curing a disease has a positive impact on communities. Rather than building a new hospital, institutions and finance mechanisms of local communities should fund early actions, which are not such costly. Sweden’s government is a good example; by investing in targeting those most at risk of developing problems in the future, managed to save departmental budgets for other investments, mainly for education. Even if there are cultural issues which act as obstacles in investing in prevention, since governments are confined to support those already in need, I feel that such decisions would be advantageous for a community’s financial sector in the long term.

In conclusion, although many state that funding prevention is not an appropriate way to tackle with fatal diseases, in my opinion efforts of the present can prevent problems later. Investing in preventive measures has upsides for both individuals and societies