“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree.

“Prevention is better than cure” is a controversial topic that raise argument among both authorities and citizens around the world. some people believe that we should focus the investment on medical treatments while many insist that diseases treating are more expensive than preventative methods so the society should spend more money on preventing plans. I definitely agree with this point of view since some medicines are way too costly and at present human race is unable to cure manifold of diseases. this essay will discuss my perspective.

Firstly, the treatment processes for some specific diseases such as cancer or diabetes are so pricey which make underprivileged people cannot afford to pay for. In addition, isolation strategies to prevent the widespread infection of virus cost an arm and a leg for the government. At the same time, it is cheaper when investing on the research into annihilating cancer risk factors or manufacturing vaccine for the virus.

Secondly, sometime it is too late to cure a sickness when its symptoms start appearing. SARS, HIV, H1N1, Ebola are the examples for the global pandemic which killed million of people in the world. There is no cure for these epidemics after they turn from incubation periods into latent states Because citizens’ health is the most important factor of a nation, preventing human loss is an indispensable mission no matter how costly the price is.

In conclusion, although researching medical treatments is important, developing diseases preventing method should not be underestimated and the government need to invest a big budget on it.