Prevention is better than cure Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures To what extent do you agree

“Prevention is better than cure” is a controversial topic that often causes debate among both around the world. Some people believe that should be invest researching and treating diseases while many insist that investment in medical treatment is more expensive than prevention, so society should spend more money on prevention.

In my point of view, new vaccines need to be researched to control epidemics when outbreaks occur. The development of vaccines not only spends an amount of money to purchase equipment and materials but also takes plenty of time to test before they can be officially used. Even devolve mass time, manpower and material resources in the research, may not be able to pay off.

In recent years, there have been many epidemics, such as SARS, Ebola virus, influenza, etc., which can cause serious deaths through large scale transmission. Fortunately, because of education and government propaganda citizens were aware of the need for prevention, therefore, the epidemic did not spread. We can never forget the largest disease in the Middle Ages which is the Black Death. People did not realize the need to prevent disease at that time which cause mass mortality when the Black Death spread rapidly. Finally, the disease can be controlled after people start to pay attention to hygiene.

There is no denying that prevention is better than cure that disease prevention requires awareness and education, which keeps costs down because there is plenty of time to prepare supplies. Compare with the research that requires a lot of human and material resources, prevention is the best choice.