It is sometimes suggested that primary schoolchildren should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals Do you think that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Some opine that farming vegetables and taking care of animals should be added in primary school’s curriculum. In my opinion, even though there are drawbacks related to its feasibility, it would be a positive addition overall.

The disadvantages involve the struggles to implement this structure. Firstly, inner city schools would not have easy access to farms. Schools in cities like New York City which already face difficulties like the rising student number and a lack of resources cannot be expected to bus thousands of students to near farmlands in a regular basis. Secondly, even countryside schools would have troubles enacting such a policy. They would need to connect with possibly reluctant local farmers, convince teachers, students and parents of the benefits, and divert funding towards a program in the dubious 21st century, as the society is becoming more urban and less agrarian.

Nonetheless, the skills earned would be definitely transferable and beneficial in themselves. Children learning how to farm vegetables would be aware of this hands-on experience for their entire life. They would be more inclined to later tend a private garden, resulting in saving money and following a healthier diet. Furthermore, the greater benefit of children farming is related to the improvement of personal qualities. Children will gain a greater sense of responsibility and self-reliance. For instance, regardless their occupation later in life and where they will live, they will have a great recognition of how to shape the world around them.

In conclusion, the personal gainings of learning how to grow plants and take care of animals outweigh any perceived drawback.