increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. to what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective.

Inflating the price of petrol is often thought to be the finest way to solve increasing traffic and pollution issues. However, i am completely against the given idea. This essay will discuss firstly why hiking the cost of petrol is not the ideal step and secondly, the productive measures which have to be implemented by the authority with relevant examples.

The vast majority of vehicles that run on roads actually constitute cars as opposed to buses, motorcycles and trucks. Ironically, these cars are predominantly owned by affluent people. So there is a high possibility that prosperous drivers will not be alarmed at all by such policy because they can even shift to more expensive cars which are favourable to the atmosphere. To add to this, while cars are flexible, convenient and efficient, other modes of transportation are widely considered to be irregular, pricey and perilous. Next, apart from privileged drivers, there are also taxi drivers, who are not well-off. But these impoverished drivers tend to put up high fares in order to counterbalance the surged fee of petrol, leading to a complete failure.

Firstly, the government ought to embolden people to share their vehicles especially cars. As this type of scheme is a good antidote to reduce pollution by bringing down thousands of cars plying on the road, it also decongests the road. For illustration, cars sharing can eradicate 11 cars from the streets and reduce greenhouse gases by around 13 metric tons according to the report in India. Secondly, if the regime subsidised the public transportation, which generally uses less fuel and is environmentally friendly, slashed the fares and ensured security, people would be unquestionably tempted to choose mass transport over cars. In addition, people will be demoralised to drive old vehicles, which are truly liable for the heavy congestion and pollution, provided that the ministry enacts tough laws against them.

In conclusion, with the consideration of an enormous amount of cars, presumably, the strategy of increasing the price of petrol is fruitless in addressing traffic jams and pollution headaches.