Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Over the last decade, the matters arising from transportation and pollution caused by it has never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although it is strongly considered by some that the measures with the aim of limiting people from using private vehicles demonstrated its effective impact, the issue as to whether raising the price of fossil fuels used for cars and other individual means is the most effective key on solving the matters as mentioned above remains controversial. To the best of my knowledge, I’m of the opinion that this is an immensely debatable question to be analyzed in light of several aspects before concluding that cost of petrol can not be the main culprit which we should focus on when finding solutions for recently increasing traffic and pollution issues.

Firstly, in terms of some typical tasks related to transport including traffic congestion, traffic collisions and injuries, it is clearly proved that most of the cases occur under the lack of human awareness of safely driving or the poor infrastructure, so in the latest period, governments are concentrating on upgrading their transport infrastructure and enhancing people’s mindset on transportation as well as building controlling system and rigorous regulations to people using transport vehicles instead of forbidding individual vehicles or raising the price of petrol to limit them using the individual ones.

Secondly, it is equally important to recognize that in order to reduce polluted air impacted by the emission of fossil fuels, the authorities should launch official policies to partly limit using private vehicles, particularly, in metropolitan areas, and to encourage engaging in current public means gradually and not raising the price of petrol to an unaffordable level which can change their habit on using private cars or motorbikes instead as some may be ignorant of the fact that our current public transportation grids have not been upgraded enough in some suburban areas. Moreover, we should be awake to the influence of excessively increasing the price of any kind of raw materials such as petrol, which can severely impact the whole social economy as inflation can happen. And, last but not least, when comparing the cost paid for buying a vehicle and petroleum for using it, it can be seen that people easily spend budget on fuels after they bought vehicles. So, why don’t we pay attention to the price of vehicles, not that of fuels?

In conclusion, under no circumstances, does the method of raising the price of gasoline play the most vital role in solving issues related to traffic and pollution as not only we should not ignore the arising consequences impacted by the above method such as the lack of upgraded public transportation network, risk of the economic inflation, but also it is proven that raising human-being awareness on travelling, driving is more essential measure to answer the matters as given in this topic.