Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of the modern society Some people think that we must return to the older and more traditional values of respect for the family and the local community in order to create a better world to live in

With the evolution of the civilizations in the past centuries, various aspects of the societies have undergone significant transformation including human

nature. In the contemporary world, no doubt, people are becoming self-centered and more materialistic which is the direct result of forgetting about old ways of life and values. I do believe that by reviving ancient values of living, we can once again make others as well as our own lives much better.

The most prominent reason for this phenomenon in the society is the increased competition among the people in this modern world. Every individual is keen to achieve set targets in life by leaving others behind and this ultimately turn people into self-centered beings. Besides this, the hunger for success and luxurious life can lead the persons to be more materialistic. While chasing their dreams, sometimes, people completely discard ethical values such as honesty, humbleness and politeness. For instance, some of the people who run multinational companies can go to any extent to enhance their profits and they do it at the cost of damaging environment or be-fooling customers.

In earlier times, mostly people used to live in joint families and traits like co-operation and being respectful towards others were prevalent among them.

Despite the scarcities of resources, old generation used to have the quality of remaining satisfied with whatever it had. Though the negative traits of greed and egotism may have been prevailing in those times,however, those were not as common as today among the masses. Moreover, lives were quite simpler and people were not much ambitious as they are in this fast-paced era. so, valuable traditions of the past do have their significance in today's world.

Presently, young generation can learn from those old values of life to be selfless and courteous towards others. Certainly, those will help us to make our society a place worth-living and more peaceful. More so, children can learn how to be better human beings if moral values from the past are inculcated in them. In my opinion, conventional values do have meaning in today's self-centered lives.

To conclude, returning to our traditions which positively contribute to the welfare of the society should be considered seriously. It would be appreciable if people start following those beautiful customs in present times.