Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe a single person can't do anything to make improvement in our surrounding environment, it is only governments and large companies who can contribute and make differences. But, I feel we live on earth so its every individuals responsibility to help in making the environment clean and better place to live.

At the first place, we should understand what exactly effects the environment. We know the pollution level has increased considerably today, so if we as an individual try and avoid using vehicles for short distance travelling or may take up public transport, this will definitely help. Further, if everyone starts planting trees in one year, we will be able to grow equal number of trees as our population and make our place greener. Also, we generally tend to keep our home clean and throw out garbage outside, may be on streets, instead of this we can make sure every house in our society/area is properly disposing the waste in central bin, thus the chances of air pollution or spreading of diseases will come down to zero and we can help in making our environment clean.

On the other hand, the governments and large companies can surely make major contribution and in making the differences, but we should also equally help government by taking steps and responsibility. Each one of us if takes full responsibility of keeping the surrounding clean at the lower level, eventually at the higher level this will make big difference.

To sum up, we as an individual has lot more to do to protect our environment, it is just that we need to start acting upon it.