Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment only governments and large companies can make a difference To what extent do you agree or disagree Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant

It is a widely held belief that environmental issues can be solved only by huge companies and governments and common people can't change the situation by themselves. I personally agree with this statement, because these powerful structures have resources to effectively deal with this problem and they are an important part of our culture and society, therefore, they can affect our way of living and values.

First and foremost, government and large commercial organizations possesses resources, such as money and workforce and therefore, they can use it in order to protect the environment. Moreover, they can control people by their influence and reputation. For instance, the sorting of garbage came along only about a decade ago. In Italy and Germany, it is the government who has implemented the law that obligates citizens to sort wastes. Even though someone might deny environmental concerns, he or she would be charged in case of violation.

Furthermore, these organizations are widely integrated in our community. They are playing an important role in our culture and society. As a result, their actions and policies impacts our lifestyle and points of view. For instance, nowadays more and more businesses decided to become more environmentally friendly by using recycled materials and reducing the wastes in their production. In my opinion, such a policy encourages people to support not only green business, but also change their way of living to be more ecologically friendly.

To sum up, the environmental issues are growing every year and we must protect our planet, but without help of such strong companies as governments and large companies we can’t make a difference.