Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.To what extent do you agree or disagree?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant.

I absolutely agree. Governments and large companies should be held accountable for every little thing that's happened and is still currently happening to our environment.

Everything is ultimately in the governments' and large companies' hands. Sure, people sometimes litter, sometimes they smoke, and other times they're throwing stuff in the ocean. Duh! No one's perfect. But at the end of the day, it's not the people throwing plastic into the ocean that is killing all the fish and turtles. It's factories dumping unimaginable amounts of garbage into the ocean, it is all the oil leaks that happen in the ocean as a result of carelessness and equipment breaking down due to neglectful mechanics.

If companies could have just stopped distributing products that are harmful and hazardous for the environment, an unexplainable amount of problems could have been solved already. Governments could also help by cutting off companies that distribute products that are known to be damaging to the environment. They could also place more strict rules and fines over littering and dumping wastes when they could easily just be sent to recycling.

Companies should also start trying to find biodegradable equivalents to their current products, therefore even if people were to litter or if said companies truly needed to dump their leftover waste somewhere, the Earth wouldn't have to endure any harm and could possibly break down the wastes that have been dumped and use it in benefit of the environment.

All in all, I don't think that people could truly change/improve the environment without the government and large companies stepping in. All we can do is protest for change.