Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university What are the reasons for this What impact does this issue have on society Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experie

It is very common for students around the world to neglect any science-related subjects when choosing what they want to study at their university. A main reason for this might be the intimidation students face from past experiences with said subjects during high school. Another could be the evolution of technology which led to multiple formerly human-operated tasks to be taken over by artificial intelligence. This impacts society negatively as more and more people lose interest in learning about the mechanics of the world.

Students barely, if ever, choose to study or major in science subjects. This is usually because of the amount of hard work you need to put in to excel at said subjects. Most students have had horrible experiences with science subjects ever since they were in middle school. One single teacher is capable of ruining a student’s entire perception of a subject for the rest of their lives. Not wanting to relive the havoc studying for these subjects is a sensible reason as to why students seldom choose them. Another reason is, we are currently living in the age of technology. Artificial intelligence is constantly replacing and taking over work stations that were previously operated by humans. This, in turn, creates a rational fear in the hearts of students who are not looking forward to having their skills and qualifications turned obsolete.

Such low numbers of students studying science subjects is harmful for society. The fact that many students are unwilling to get a basic understanding of how everything functions will end up creating a potentially clueless and uninformed generation.

In conclusion, the two main reasons as to why most students are discouraged from going into science subjects is bad past experiences and fear of being overpowered by technology. Which leads to an uneducated future for society.