Influence of human beings on the world's ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of bio-diversity.

What are the primary causes of loss of bio-diversity?

What solutions can you suggest?

Human living activities has been becoming immeasurably harmful to the natural world. As a result, there have been massive extinctions of numberous species of organisms. This essay will examine the main causes of loss of biodiversity and feasible measures of this obstacle.

The loss of the diversity of nature mainly boils down to two reasons. Firstly, the exponential growth of the human population is causing extinction by ruining natural habitats . In other words, overpopulation is one of the most pressing problems faced by our society, around the world, cities are becoming bustling, leading to the emergence of dirty slums that lack access to energy source, sanitation, and other basic human needs. Therefore, the demand of hunting, overharvesting, changing wetlands and forests to croplands and urban areas escalates. In the USA, for instance, thousands of square kilometres of forest which is home to hundreds of species of rare animal are destroyed for cultivation and construction. The second reason, linked to the first, is the alarming amount of carbon dioxide gas that are released from the burning of fossil fuels and vehicles. It is obvious that carbon footprint is the major cause of global warming which leads to the decrease of biodiversity. For example, ice melting at the North pole has made several kinds of polar bear died out.

Solving this issue entails altering the public’s mindset which can be done via awareness-raising activities through social media. Furthermore, individuals should have responsibility for protecting the environment and avoiding overexploitation. Another way to put the crisis under control is to promote public transport to curb the amount of CO2 gas.

In conclusion, the detrimental impact of human living activities in modern day is larger than ever, so changing the consciousness of people all over the world about the crisis is critical.