Information technology has changed our lives in many ways and dominates our homes, leisure and work activities.

Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

The strong presence of information technology in modern society is well observed. Pervasive in nature, I.T has integrated into all aspects of our lives, including our living space, free time and work activities. This development has a number of positives, which will be shown to eclipse their negative counterparts in the following essay.

There are sensible concerns regarding the current domination of I.T. Forefront among them is the current public health degradation. Exposing to electrical devices for long hours is the main reason for eye-defects among children while addiction to social networking sites may cause users to withdraw from real life interactions. Also, as organisations are increasingly relying on digital platforms for data storage and transaction conduction, there are risks of security breaching. Hackers, for instance, can bypass protective measures to extract valuable information for their own gains.

However, it is undeniable that harnessing I.T properly can improve our lives in various domains. Entertainment is such a benefitting field, as thanks to connection to the Internet, people can release stress through various means, including playing online games or watching video clips. Remarkable transformations can also be seen in safer modern homes, which are now equipped with surveillance cameras and fire protection systems. Most importantly, practices at workplace are getting progressively more efficient thanks to the facilitation of I.T. Examples of this range from video conferencing, online time management to digital means of data storage and sharing. While issues of security should be acknowledged, heightened proactive measures against intrusion are frequently devised to tackle these problems.

In conclusion, I hold the view that the benefits of I.T outweigh its problems, which could be encountered with appropriate measures.