International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Recently, there has been a boom in the tourism industry, especially the international sector. However, with the invasion of foreign tourists, people believe that they have brought plenty of negative problems to the indigenous society, such as exerting dire consequences of natural habitats and local culture. In my opinion, the advantages of a well-developed tourism industry would outweigh the severe disadvantages.

To begin with, tourism disrupts the ecosystems of tourist attractions. In this regard, researchers have reported that mountains of plastic waste have been measured wherever there is a sightseeing site, hence causing permanent damage to this particular landscape. Mount Everest would be a striking example, where has been acknowledged that thousands of waste have been identified in the last few years and the number has kept increasing. Furthermore, the decline of ecosystems would also affect the habitats of the local wildlife due to the action of littering that tourists could have done. Despite that, these actions could be prevented when the local governments enact legislation to heighten awareness among travelers.

However, everyone is enormously benefited from the burgeoning travel industry. The first and foremost impact that the industry has brought to society is a higher number of job opportunities. From this perspective, local residents can open small businesses that sell local souvenirs as well as the expansion of indigenous restaurants and services. This practice would provide a higher influx of money for the authority to allocate into the facility and infrastructural development of that society, as well as enhancing other aspects within the country such as education and healthcare. Therefore, countries with a well-developed tourism industry would uplift their socio-economic status through their flourishing hospitality sector.

To sum up, the enormous benefits of international tourism trumps its negative impact. The major advantage of all is to have more job opportunities and better growth of a nation. The governments should encourage travel agencies to open more eco-friendly tours and establish some environmental remodeling to protect not only the natural habitats but also the local inhabitants.