Most people do not care enough about environmental issues.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it is not uncommon to see billboards on the roads campaigning about environmental problems, such as encouraging recycle or reducing global warming. However, there is still a belief that the majority of people ignore those environmental issues. In my opinion, I disagree with this view because modern people nowadays are more aware of how they affect the environment and what are their responsibilities to prevent natural disasters.

Firstly, awareness of protecting the environment is rising rapidly. After observing many consequences of how industrialization has affected the environment like deforestation, people now comprehended how adversely they had done to the ecosystem. Hence, more organizations have been established to raise funding and introduce voluntary tasks such as cleaning the beaches, planting more trees around the city, and many more eco-friendly activities. Besides that, teachers also have delivered many lectures about protecting the environment to engage the students with many environmental activities-related like recycling water bottles or always turning off the water faucets when not using.

Secondly, preventing natural disasters is now considered more seriously. In this regard, after admitting the result of meddling with nature, humans can no longer ignore the impact that they have brought to the environment, such as more floods and hurricanes are simultaneously happening every year, and global warming is causing ice to melt in both poles. Each of these issues has driven many scientists to establish new methods of generating energy from renewable resources from the sun, wind, and tidal waves in order to replace other fuels like nuclear energy or fossil fuels.

Admittedly, developing countries' citizens are not much aware. Due to the harsh living conditions that they are having, all they have concentrated on are how to earn a living. Hence, many unethical companies take advantage of this to create more environmental issues such as releasing polluted water into rivers before contaminating. However, governments can prevent this by enacting more legislation and being strictly on the process of releasing product wastes of those organizations.

To sum up, I strongly believe that people are now more concerned about the environmental impacts than how they used to be. This is clearly shown throughout the effort of not only governments themselves, but also each of individuals as well as many other organizations, who are all truly care about the environment. More programs have been established to raise the awareness of people about environmental, and more research studies have been conducted to find solutions to minimize natural disasters.