The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Since the first car appeared on British roads near the end of the 19th century, the number of vehicles has skyrocketed during the next two centuries with over 29 million cars. Hence, measures have been examined to reduce the number of private car owners, such as encouraging the use of other transports and introducing global legislation. In my opinion, I agree that these are the two best remedies to minimize car ownership.

To begin with, alternative transports would reduce carbon dioxide emissions. In this regard, public transportation should be taken into account to produce a more eco-friendly society for citizens. To illustrate this, if more than a half number of commuters were asked to use the public transportation system, then a half number of vehicles would not show up on the streets, and the air would be much fresher. Moreover, governments could further allocate financial resources into developing systems using renewable energy and consequently reduce the amount of gasoline usage.

Next, imposing higher taxes would discourage car purchasing. Due to the help of financial institutions, people usually have no trouble filling out the form of lending loans for buying a car. However, by raising the taxes on cars, people would be discouraged from buying and using the vehicles and consequently public transports would be a valid alternative. For instance, in Spain, car taxes are so high that more than half of the daily commuters choose the train, bus, or subway rather than their cars.

Admittedly, private cars are prioritized because of their convenience. It is not uncommon that people would unconsciously use their vehicles for certain occasions like going to the markets or picking their children from school. However, if governments tried hard enough to provide a more reliable transportation system at a low price, people would consider public transports as a more economical alternative and prefer using them as a result.

To recapitulate, I agree that the encouragement of using public transport and the introduction of legislation would trump car ownership. Commuters would acknowledge public transports as a valid candidate for daily travel when the taxes for cars are not affordable. In the future, I believe that the environmental problems would be lessened as a result of these measures.