Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'.

How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the last thirty years, it is not uncommon that traffic congestion has become an issue for countless cities around the world due to the contribution of the growth of private cars. In my opinion, I totally agree with this view and believe that governments can put a stop to this by raising taxes and enhancing public transport.

There are two causes for the increase in car ownership. First of all, lack of reliable public transportation leads to the demand of owning a private car. It is believed that pick pocketing on public transports has been so critical that people would try to avoid and indirectly encourage people to buy cars. Moreover, with the help of financial institutions, there would be no trouble filling out the form of lending loans for buying a car. Thus, these two roots of issues contribute to an overwhelming number of cars filling up streets and eventually causing traffic congestion.

There are two measures to solve the issue. On top of that, allocating financial resources to improve public transports seems to be one of the most efficient remedies. In this regard, by installing cameras on public transports, people would feel safe using public transports since they would not be worried about issues like pick pocketing anymore. Another effective way is to raise the taxes on cars, so people would be discouraged from buying the vehicles and consequently public transports would be a valid alternative. For instance, in Spain, car taxes are so high that more than half of the daily commuters choose the train, bus, or subway rather than their cars.

To sum up, it is undeniable that a poor public transportation system and the easy access to cars have been creating a serious problem of traffic congestion. However, I believe that government can put a halt to this matter by applying higher taxes on private car owners and focusing on improving the public transportation system.