Governments alone cannot be expected to solve environmental problems. It is also the responsibility of businesses and individuals to help. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problems have been a critical concern since the Industrial Revolution, when humans started taking advantage of the nature. Hence, people have begun arguing about who must be responsible for the crisis. Some believe that governments should be the one to tackle this issue alone; however, in my opinion, this matter needs effort not only from the governments but also from businesses and individuals due to the following reasons.

First and foremost, the cost to solve these problems is ineffable because this is a long-term process. It means that governments alone are not able to afford this financial burden due to the fact that businesses contribute to the pollution process by emitting gases from factories or individuals who are not aware of how adversely their littering actions would impact the environment. Thus, joint contributions from both individuals and businesses are necessary in the cost of solving the problems.

Furthermore, there are actions and efforts that governments cannot carry out by themselves. Take the said action of littering above as an example, even if the governments establish tons of campaigns about protecting the nature or introduce taxes; however, without contribution and responsibility from citizens, the problems would never be lessened or changed. In addition to that, if businesses do not realize the consequences of their actions, governments’ regulations about waste management are nothing.

Admittedly, people may argue that taxes are the money that they pay for the governments who must be in charge of using it effectively to work out the solutions. However, if all parties are not on the same page, then the attempt on solving this crisis would not be effective.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that businesses and individuals must join with the governments into tackling environmental problems so that the process would be more productive.