Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At present, undertaking academic studies has been an imperative approach if countries want to compete in the globalized world. However, there are also some contentious issues about whether governments are the ones in charge of the resources and monitoring or private corporations are. In my opinion, while there are some arguments favoring scientific research by corporations, I agree that this should be funded and supervised predominantly by the state.

When private sectors are involved, the profits are their priority. In terms of the quality of the research itself, corporations that carry this out may be tempted to manipulate results in maximize monetary gain. In addition to that, there have been numerous scandals about new products being published hurriedly after inadequate testing trials. A particularly striking example of this would be GM crops, which have not been proven the long-term effect of the products on not only human health but also a whole ecosystem. This would destroy the natural habitats as a result of meddling with nature.

Higher-quality products can be carried out if governments are involved. In this regard, research is designated to benefit the society rather than breaking into a competitive edge or new markets. For instance, thalidomide, developed by a German drug company, resulted in the birth of thousands of malformed children. If this product was under the control of government, the result would be much more different. Moreover, knowledge gained can be shared worldwide throughout the academic community. This means that every country is accessible to the research information despite the distance and ethic, hence leading to a better communication between countries.

To sum up, governments’ influences on scientific research trump that of private sectors. Therefore, I strongly agree with the view that government should be solely responsible for monitoring and controlling of this in terms of producing higher-quality products and sharing knowledge globally.