Government should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that the state should be responsible for financing and administrating scientific study instead of private entities. This essay agrees with that statement because the government can support universities and hospitals and, it can benefit people and boost the economy.

Governments should be liable for subsidizing and supervising scientific investigation because they can help academic institutions and hospitals. That is to say, Medical students and doctors can get support in important research from government funds. Therefore, they can continue with their research work and able to innovate novel products in the future. Whereas, Private companies are more interested to protect their innovation by filing patents and investing funds into their intellectual property department. For example, National Health Service in the UK is able to run clinical trials and, providing treatment with the latest instrument to cancer patients due to government investments.

Another reason why science research should be governed and managed by administrations is to improve the economy and help the citizen. People would obtain effective treatment in the hospitals, and cured of cancer-related diseases, and live a healthy life if the government invests money and maintain scientific research. Moreover, their investments in research benefit the economy as well. For example, US Food and Drug Administration funding on drug research help scientists to experiment on the covid vaccine and stabilize the economic condition of the country.

In conclusion, the government helps researchers to do innovation in the science field and build a strong economy. I, therefore, believe that government support is essential for investing and maintaining scientific research.